I'm still at work, will be there late (so no IM tonight), worked SUCKED (not totally and not necessarily 'my fault' but as usual I feel somehow Responsible), I still have to finish a 3-page report for Archives class due tommorrow night that will surely SUCK as I didn't notice till the last minute (day or so ago) that it was due (losing my Archives notes-binder temporarily from Thursday to Tuesday at the place we went to a field trip last Thursday didn't help); I'm starving but almost too discombobulated to eat as I should, I'm not sleeping well, my lower back hurts, my sink at home's piled with putrid dishes, I have to loose oodles of pounds by this July to look decent in that teal JJill dress set I got for a song on eBay (s'no bargain if you can't realistically wear it), I feel in general like shit warmed over...
...AND ECCLESTON'S EITHER GENUINELY QUITTING OR ELSE THE BBC'S STICKING IT TO US WITH A 2-DAYS EARLY APRIL FOOL'S JOKE. ISN'T THAT F%CKING SPECIAL.
What I've heard is that the typecasting is sort of the "public" excuse, and the private one is that he's exhausted from filming and publicity, and doesn't think he can do another season.
I also suspect the timing of the two announcements is related, not accidental.
1) I wouldn't be surprised if he got scared by all the attention so quickly -- first, the trolls on AICN, then lightning speed with which the BBC made it's renewal decision (geeze -- give the poor guy a chance to breathe, why don't you?). And by what he's said in the interview clips on the Doctor Who homepage, I don't think he really knew what he was getting himself into. ... If I were in his position, I'd be going "Eeep!" too. But, because it is so early, there's always time for him to change his mind back... isn't there? :::crosses fingers:::
2) 13 television episodes/one full tv season is more than we got of McGannDoc, and is about as much screentime as we saw of ColinDoc, considering the change in format.
Let's be thankful we Chris for the first season,he got a second and maybe more seasons. I never saw him staying with the role very long but he gave new Who a solid base to work from.
From:
no subject
2 DAYS EARLY??!!!
From:
-??!!
From:
Re: -??!!
From:
Re: -??!!
...AND ECCLESTON'S EITHER GENUINELY QUITTING OR ELSE THE BBC'S STICKING IT TO US WITH A 2-DAYS EARLY APRIL FOOL'S JOKE. ISN'T THAT F%CKING SPECIAL.
EITHER WAY,
BEX SMASH!!!!!!!!
From:
Re: -??!!
From:
Re: -??!!
From:
Re: -??!!
From:
no subject
I also suspect the timing of the two announcements is related, not accidental.
From:
no subject
From:
yeah...
:::Ducks and runs:::
From:
no subject
1) I wouldn't be surprised if he got scared by all the attention so quickly -- first, the trolls on AICN, then lightning speed with which the BBC made it's renewal decision (geeze -- give the poor guy a chance to breathe, why don't you?). And by what he's said in the interview clips on the Doctor Who homepage, I don't think he really knew what he was getting himself into. ... If I were in his position, I'd be going "Eeep!" too. But, because it is so early, there's always time for him to change his mind back... isn't there? :::crosses fingers:::
2) 13 television episodes/one full tv season is more than we got of McGannDoc, and is about as much screentime as we saw of ColinDoc, considering the change in format.
In any case, I hold him no ill-will...
From:
no subject
I never saw him staying with the role very long but he gave new Who a solid base to work from.
From:
no subject