Ironically, I didn't get that notorious download....as my connection turned out, in the end, to be too slow for it to be worthwhile.
At the moment, however, I remain unrepentant for having discreetly posted that link. And am now feeling a bit Irritated myself.
I guess those who disagree with my action, and myself will just have to agree to differ.
Because when I see the enjoyment and happiness of those who did view it, how it merely whets their appetite for the whole series when it comes out....
NO REGRETS.
At the moment, however, I remain unrepentant for having discreetly posted that link. And am now feeling a bit Irritated myself.
I guess those who disagree with my action, and myself will just have to agree to differ.
Because when I see the enjoyment and happiness of those who did view it, how it merely whets their appetite for the whole series when it comes out....
NO REGRETS.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
Of course. Some Whovians prefer to wait until the 'official' date, some North Americans had planned to wait not quite that long (considering we have to date no official distributor yet), but see it with friends (my initial choice, and the same one I'm still participating in, just a bit earlier than originally planned...and a plan which even then involved....hmmm...illegal copying...fancy that); others don't have that option or access to the usual fan conduits, and might like to see it sooner. I knew there were some on my friend's list in the latter group; I decided they should have the info., so they could make their own choice.
As I see it, this whole download flap is just another classic example of I say 'potatooes', you say 'potaatoes'.
Like we've never seen that before in fandom.
Seeing as the BBC's first priority is to win over the general UK tv-viewing and DVD-buying populace with this new show, I very much doubt that a few early viewings of one episode by a small number of rabid N.A. devotees is going to impact in any way their plans for world domination. 'I saw the first ep early; screw them; I'm gonna Spoil it to everyone, and I'm never buying another official DVD release again!! Their plans are useless, useless now!!'
Um, no. All those of you who are choosing to wait are getting is the reassurance that yes, you're gonna like what you see.
In conclusion, I see it as a case of personal preference (as I actually do see both sides). But you'll have to forgive me if I roll my eyes a bit at your worst-case scenario, and at Ash's self-rightous indignation. Which I find a tad disgenous, considering his own original plans.
Yes...tell me....what real difference does 3 weeks make - for those of us in the USA?
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
Wouldn't you?
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
Please understand, I'm not saying that people shouldn't download the show especially in areas like the US without a broadcaster... but from everything i've heard the quality of this rip is shitty and lower than Video-CD. Its blocky, pixelated, and dialogue is lost in the mix. Certainly not the way I'd want to experience something that we've all been waiting for this long.
From:
no subject
I just wanted to see it,i plan to buy the DVDs if they come out..i really don't see the new shows hitting American tv this year at all.
And if a good UK tvrip comes i'll try to get that too.
US fans are treated like red-headed step children when it comes to Who :)
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
However, I wouldn't BUY an illegal download. If you're gonna skirt the grey area copyright law, don't dig yourself any deeper than you already are. :D